Department of Energy and Power Systems was founded at the 129th Faculty Council’s Regular Session of the Technical College University of Zagreb, on Tuesday June 26, 1934. Department of Energy and Power Systems studies and innovates in the fields of generation, transmission, distribution and use of electrical energy, energy efficiency, high voltage engineering, smart grids, energy management, nuclear engineering and safety, electricity markets, and electric vehicles. Throughout the years, the Department has become the leading authority in the field of electrical power engineering in the region, maintaining long-term collaboration with the industry sector. Furthermore, it is recognized through its research activities and a large number of published scientific papers in JCR journals, as well as numerous national and international research projects. In total, the Department has 52 employees (16 Professors – 9 Full, 4 Associate and 3 Assistant) and offers substantial educational and R&D facilities, including five Research Laboratories, six department teaching halls and a department library. Through its activities, the Department has developed valuable international collaboration with many research institutions around the world. Researchers of the Department are currently involved in 3 HORIZON 2020 projects, 2 bilateral projects, 1 Erasmus+ project, 5 projects financed by the Croatian Science Foundation, as well as the principal investigators of a number of industry-funded projects.

EUROCON 2015, 5th CFP- Extension...

The 16th International Conference on Computer as a Tool (EUROCON 2015 - is

organized in parallel with STARTUP OLÉ. ( in Salamanca, Spain form 8th - 11th September, 2015.

The IEEE Region 8 EuroCon 2015 Conference is a premier forum for the exchange of ideas, open and direct discussion on the development of the Circuits and Systems, Multimedia, Information and Communication Technology and Energy and Power Systems. 

It has achieved a considerable success during the past 15 editions covering majority of the fields in the area of electrical engineering. 

EUROCON 2015 is organized by the IEEE Spanish Section and IEEE Region 8.


Paper submission deadline: 20th May, 2015 


More can be found in the expanded version of this announcement.


Prof. Marios M. Polycarpou - University of Cyprus (Cyprus) 

Prof. Francisco Herrera - University of Granada (Spain) 


Prof. John Tompson - The University of Edinburgh (UK)


1. Magnetic Materials for Energy Applications. 


2. Workshop on micro/nanoelectronic circuits and systems


 1. Enhanced Interference Management in Advanced Mobile Communications Networks for Energy Saving 

 2. Software Defined Radio for Education 

 3. Applications of Computational Intelligence in Bioinformatics and Biomedical Engineering 

 4. Soft Computing Models in Industrial and Environmental Applications by SMC     

 5. Multi-Agent Systems for Operations & Supply Chain Management 

 6. Computer: Tool for signal/image/video processing and intelligent systems 

 7.  Software Engineering Challenges and Techniques for Consumer Electronics Ecosystems 


 8. Image and Signal Processing for High Performance Computing environments (ISP4HPC)



- Guided visit to Salamanca and Tapas Night (We invite you to taste “Tapas” and life the  Salamanca Feria) 

- Cocktail and show about cutting Ibérico ham by a  Spanish National Champion in the court of ham 

- Guided visit to Ciudad Rodrigo followed by: 
      - Bullfighting Show (No pain or blood involved for the brave animals)   
      - and Gala Dinner (Gala dinner will take place at Hotel Conde Rodrigo II, located in a privileged setting only 1.5 km from the Ciudad Rodrigo City Centre, with spectacular gardens).


*** TOPICS *** 
1. Information and Communication Technology: 
Internet Services and Applications; Future Internet; Wireless and Mobile Communications; Network Convergence; Multimedia Communication Systems; Quality of Service and Quality of Experience; High Performance Networking; Optical Systems and Networks; Network Design and Optimization of Communication Systems; Network Performance Evaluation; Multiagent Systems; Intelligent Systems; Sensor Networks; Self-Organizing Networks; Distributed Embedded Systems; Software Engineering; Cloud Computing; Security 

2. Circuits and Systems for Signal Processing: 
Analog and Mixed Circuits; RF Circuits; Low Power Circuits; VLSI Circuits and Systems; Device and Circuit Modeling; Design for Testability; Distributed Circuits; Reconfigurable Architectures; High Level Synthesis; Hardware and Software Co-design; Signal, Image and Video Processing and Analysis; Pattern Recognition; Multimedia; Sensors and Transducers; MEMS; Biomedical Systems; Human-Computer Interaction; Robotics; Neural Networks; Fuzzy Logic 

3. Energy: 
a) Power Resources and Systems: Power System Planning and Management; PowerMachines and Electric Vehicles; Electricity Demand; Smart Grid and Smart Energy Systems; Energy and Environment Sustainable Development; Transition Towards a Low Carbon Energy System 

b) Smart Cities and Energy in Buildings: From Efficient Buildings to Smart Cities; IntegratedManagement Systems; End-use Customers; Demand-Side Management; Advanced Metering Infrastructure; Engineering Education 


Manuscripts must be written in English. All papers must comply with the format of the IEEE Manuscript Templates for Conference Proceedings and each paper should not exceed 6 pages. 

All submissions will be refereed by experts in the field based on originality, significance, quality and clarity. All contributions must be original, must not have been published elsewhere and must not be intended to be published elsewhere (conference or journal) during the review period. Accepted papers will be included in EUROCON 2015 Proceedings, which will be published by IEEE and submitted to IEEE Xplore. All accepted papers will be considered for extension for possible publication in journal special issues dedicated to this conference. 

All papers must be initially submitted in electronic PDF format using the online paper submission system: 


*General Chair* 

Emilio Corchado– University of Salamanca (Spain) 

*Honorary Chairs* 

Alfonso Fernández Mañueco - Mayor of Salamanca (Spain) 

Costas M. Stasopoulos- IEEE Region 8 Director-Elect. 

*Technical Programme Committee* 

TPC Co-chairs 

Carl James Debono - University of Malta (Malta) 

Magdalena Salazar- Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (Spain) 

Manuel Castro - UNED (Spain) 

Manuel Graña - University of País Vasco/EHU (Spain) 

Publicity Co-chairs 

Matej Zajc- University of Ljubljana (Slovenia) 

Marios Antoniou- CYTA (Cyprus) 

Ali El-Mousa - University of Jordan (Jordan) 

Shaun Kaplan - CapeSoft 

*Track Chairs* 

Jan Haase– Track: Energy 

Athanasios Kakarountas– Track: Circuits and Systems for Signal Processing 


Jesús Fraile Ardenuy– Track: Power Resources and Systems


Manuel Graña Romay– Track: Information and Communication Technology



Paper submission deadline: 20th May, 2015 

Acceptance notification: 5th June, 2015 

Camera-Ready Copy Due: 20th June, 2015 

Payment deadline: 22nd June, 2015 

Conference dates: 8th-11th September, 2015 


*** CONTACT *** 

Dr. Emilio Corchado 

IEEE Spain Section Chair 

Department of Computer Science and Automatic Control 

University of Salamanca 

Salamanca, Spain 


Author: Ninoslav Holjevac
News list


Sort by: title | last reply time | thread opened time
Title Replies Last reply