Home Search AAA
Number of visits:
3600
 
ABOUT STUDYABROAD

 

Home page: http://travelnstudy.azurewebsites.net

Travel n Study project:

Travel 'n Study project aims to develop a system that will help students in choosing a university and the city in which they want to study abroad. The project goal is to collect information from different open data sources on the Web and use it to develop a recommendation system which will guide the user towards a decision.The goal of the project is to build a web application which will provide a service to the user in a form of a recommendation system for deciding where to go to study abroad. The application will gather data needed to make that decision from various open data sources and present the data to the user in a organized and visually attractive user interface. The application will allow the user to input data on a number of options so the system can provide the user with choices which are suitable to his preferences.

 

Main features:

  • Explore interactive geographical map 
  • Getting university suggestions
  • Viewing selected university information 
  • Viewing selected city information 
  • Commenting & Rating
  • Getting university recommendations

 

Credits:

We would like to thank the following people / organizations for their help, support or information providing for this application:
 
Freebase providing general information about cities and universities
Numbeo providing cost of life information
WorldBank providing climate information
4icu providing university ratings and basic information
Panoramio providing photos of cities
Google for maps and places information
Ivana Bosnic our supervisor
DSD Staff providing support and feedback for the project

PROJECT TEAM


  

Milan Čop

Project role(s): Lead Developer, Database manager
Personal info: My name is Milan and I'm 23 years old. I was born and raised in Zagreb. I finished Mathematical Gymnasium and after that I enrolled undergraduate study at FER. I have bachelor degree in Computer science since 2011. Currently I'm at my second year of Master's study.  
Skills & Interests: My favourite programming language is C# (and Visual Studio is my favorite development enviroment). Besides that I was programming in C, C++, Java, Python and Perl. I know some basics of JavaScript and PhP but I'm not very skillful in it. I have experiance in HTML and CSS too. My favourite part in Computer science is Computer security and forensics.
Hobbies: I have interests in most of sports but my favorites are winter sports. I like skiing and snowboarding. Besides that I'm big fan of Croatian ice hockey team Medveščak. I also like soccer and martial arts. Especially Japanese martial arts like Ninjutsu.
Email: milan.cop@fer.hr
Other contacts: Facebook - Milan Čop => https://www.facebook.com/milan.nalim

Gmail - milan.nalim@gmail.com

MSN - purger_1@hotmail.com

Skype - milancop1989
Personal Page:

  

Katarina Sekula

Project role(s): Requirements manager, Testing manager, Developer (Server)
" Personal info: I am 23 years old. I live in Zagreb, Croatia. I am studying at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Zagreb, the module software engineering. This is the first college I enrolled.  
Skills & Interests: C#, SQL, databases, python  
Hobbies: hiking
Email: katarina.sekula@fer.hr
Other contacts: "live messenger katejavor@gmail.com facebook Katarina Sekula Skype katanuska"
Personal Page:

  

Branimir Lochert

Project role(s): Project leader, Documentation manager, Developer (Server)
Personal info: My name is Branimir, I am 24 years old. I am from Croatia, the city of Zagreb. I am studying at FER (Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing) where I got my Bachelor's degree.  
Skills & Interests: My skills are primarily in programming, I love problem solving and abstraction in programming (developing/using frameworks). I prefer modern object oriented languages such as C# and the .NET framework. I am also interested in Web development (XHTML, CSS, JavaScript, Ajax, jQuery, both server and client side functionality).  
Hobbies: Yes all of the above at the same time if possible.
Email: branimir.lochert@fer.hr
Other contacts: Skype - branimir.lochert MSN Messenger - mrljavi_crox@hotmail.com
Personal Page:

  

Alessandro Sisto

Project role(s): Team leader, User interface manager, Developer (Client)
Personal info: My name is Alessandro Sisto, i'm italian, i live in Milan and i am 26 years old. Actually i'm a student in the Msc of computer science engineering at Politecnico of Milan. I have a Bsc in computer science engineering taken from POLIMI on february 2011
Skills & Interests: My main field of study and research interest is in the Computer Security area. At the moment i'm also studying objective-c for iOS development.

Main skills: Java, Python, C, Html, CSS, SQL (sqlite and mysql)

Basic Knowledge: Objective-C, Javascript, Ruby, Assembly


Hobbies: Electronic Music and Djing - Movies and Tv shows - Reading - Football ( A.c. Milan supporter )
Email: alessandro.sst@gmail.com
Other contacts: Skype: ale_sisto
Personal Page:

  

Daniele Rogora

Project role(s): Virtual Machine manager, Backup manager, SVN manager, Developer (Client)
Personal info: I was born in Busto Arsizio (Varese) and I live near the Malpensa airport. I am 24 at the moment; I'll be 25 the next December. I studied in Busto Arsizio at the local liceo scientifico and then I immediatly joined the Politecnico di Milano, where I got the first level laurea in 2010, with a thesis project of a CUDA implementation of the number field sieve algorithm.  
Skills & Interests: I like a wide range of arguments related to the information technology. In particular I'd say parallel programming, where I have a good knowledge of CUDA, and computer security.  
Hobbies: I like snowboarding, playing soccer (5 people per team) and videogames. And, of course, visiting foreign places.
Email: daniele.rogora@mail.polimi.it
Other contacts: Facebook: Daniele Rogora

skype: dodoeg03

gmail: daniele.rogora@gmail.com
Personal Page:

  

Javier Hualpa

Project role(s): Server - Client coordinator, Data sources manager, Developer (Server)
Personal info: I am an international student from Argentina I am on the computer engineering master. I have 6 years of industry experience and I am in the master because I always wated to persue a degree program in Europe.  
Skills & Interests: I have experience on distributed applications and automation systems, but now my focus has shifted and I want to participate in proyects where I can develop real technology such a compiler, a framework, etc.  
Hobbies: Cinema, reading, swimming and running
Email: fernik@gmail.com
Other contacts: Skype javier.hualpa

Alternate email: fhualpa@msn.com

Facebook: javier.hualpa
Personal Page:


PROJECT SUPERVISOR

Ivana Bosnić (ivana.bosnic[at]fer.hr)