Home Search AA
Number of visits:




SmartCart is an Android application which enables its users to create a shopping list and, according to their location and the prices of the products in different stores nearby, get suggested stores where they could buy the products from the list. The stores can be ranked by the total price of the shopping list or by distance from the user. One of the main aspects in how SmartCart differs from similar services is that it searches for the total lowest price of all products in the shopping list, whereas similar services usually focus on finding the cheapest price for only one item at a time.


Key features:

Product search

  • By browsing through product categories
  • Using the autocomplete search text box
  • By scanning products' barcodes  

Shopping list

  • Adding products to the shopping list
  • Removing products from the shopping list
  • Changing the quantity of products in the shopping list

Store suggestion

  • Suggesting stores according to the user's location and price of the products in the shopping list 


  • Showing suggested stores on the map
  • Showing directions to a store

Automatic data collection

  • Automatic collection of product information from the Web site of a store


Used techology and tools:

  • Client side
    • Android
    • Java
    • Google maps
    • SQLite
    • Eclipse + ADT
  • Server side
    • .Net Framework 4.0
    • C#
    • WCF web services (JSON Enabled)
    • MS SQL Server 2008
    • LINQ to SQL
    • WPF
    • Windows Forms
    • Html Agility Pack
    • Visual Studio 2010

igor :)

Igor Czerwinski

Project role(s): SVN coordinator, SW developer (server side and Android)

Personal info: I am Igor, I am 22 years old. Originally I come from Poland but for the last 4 years I lived in Scotland where I have completed my undergraduate degree in Software Engineering. Currently, I am enrolled in the GSEEM program which means that I am studying a 2 year masters program in Software Engineering.

Skills & Interests:  C#, WPF/Silverlight, Java, Python, HTML5/CSS3, Javascript, bits and pieces in Android and WP7

Hobbies: skiing, travelling, cooking, exploring new technologies

Email: ici11001 [at] student.mdh.se

Other contacts: Skype: igor.czerwinski, Facebook & Google+: look for "Igor Czerwinski", gTalk: czerwony

Luka Božić

Project role(s): Project Leader, SW developer (server side)

Personal info: My name is Luka, I'm 23 and I come from Zagreb, Croatia. I received my bachelor degree at the University of Zagreb, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing (FER). My area of study as a bachelor was Telecommunicatons and Informatics. This is my second year as a Master student. I continued my studies at my home university (FER) as a Master student of Informaton and Communication Technology. This is my first semester at the MDH and I planned to stay here for 1 semester (until January).

Skills & Interests: During the study at the university and in many personal projects I used Microsoft .NET Framework (C#). Through various projects that I worked on (beside the projects at the faculty) I learned more about ASP.NET and Microsoft Silverlight technology. Also, during my study at the faculty I learned a lot about markup languages (XML, HTML, SOAP...)

Hobbies: basketball, football, floorball (since I came to Västerås), watching movies and TV shows, travelling, partying...

Email: luka.bozic.zg [at] gmail.com

Other contacts: www.facebook.com/luka.b7, Skype: luka.bozic.zg


Ali Shahid

Project role(s): Android developer

Personal info: My name is Shahid Ali,  I am 28 years old, I am from Pakistan. Currently I am an Exchange Student at MDH, from the University of L'Aquila in Italy. I am doing Master in Software Engineering (GSEEM), and this is my second year. And previously I studied BS (hons) in computer science from my home country. 

Skills & Interests: Basically I have no work experience in any company, but I have done my course projects in many programming languages. So of them include:

1. Programming in Java 
2. Web development in PHP (mainly), ASP.NET (can work)
3. Web Designing (DreamWeaver,  Adobe Photoshop, CSS, JavaScript etc)
4. C#.NET

Hobbies: table tennis, volleyball, cricket

Email: alishahid247 [at] yahoo.com

Other contacts: Skype: me.shahidali, Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100001939051316

Bin Wu

Project role(s): Leading SW Tester

Personal info: My name is Bin Wu, I am 27 years old, i am from China, I have got the master degree which is majored in telecommunication and information system in my home country in 2010, and then I worked as  an Integration&Verification engineer in Company more than 1 year. I am on the first year master programme in software engineering.

Skills & Interests: wireless communication, C,  Basic C++, Integration&Verification testing.

Hobbies: basketball

Email: bwu11001 [at] student.mdh.se

Other contacts: Facebook: wubinbaoyi@163.com, Skype: wubinbaoyi@163.com

Ivo Štimac

Project role(s): Database architect, SW developer (server side), VM responsible

Personal info: I'm 22, born in Zagreb. Studying software engineering and information technology.

Skills & Interests: Software development (mostly .NET technologies) and database modelling, including BI.

Hobbies: swimming, cycling, history, video games and football

Email: ivo.stimac@fer.hr

Other contacts: 
Windows Live Messenger - ivo_stimac@hotmail.com
ICQ - 204835125
GTalk - ivo.stimac [at] gmail.com
Skype - ivo.stimac
Facebook - Ivo Štimac

Filip Gvardijan

Project role(s): Team Leader, Android developer

Personal info: 22 years old form Zagreb, B.Sc in Telecommunications and Informatics at FER, currently studying M.Sc in the same field.

Skills & Interests: software and mobile developement in JAVA; web developement in HTML, CSS, PHP; database modeling.

Hobbies: snowboarding, wakeboarding, any kind of sport connected with a board and outdoor

Email: filip.gvardijan [at] gmail.com

Other contacts: Skype - filip.gvardijan, MSN - filip.gvardijan [at] hotmail.com

Željko Brdarić

Project role(s):  Android developer

Personal info: I was born 1988 in Doboj, Bosnia and Herzegovina. In 1999 I moved to Croatia. Currently I'm studying Information and Communication Technology at FER. I completed my Bachelor's degree in Computer Science in 2010.

Skills & Interests: Web development and design (HTML, CSS, Joomla, GWT), mobile development (Android), software development (Java, C#), ...

Hobbies: soccer, futsal, playing the piano

Email: zeljko.brdaric [at] fer.hr

Other contacts: Skype: zeljko_brdaric, Live messenger: zeljko-brdaric@hotmail.com


     Juraj Feljan (juraj.feljan [at] mdh.se)