Home Search AA
Number of visits:
2287
 
HOWZIT: SECURE PEER-TO-PEER MESSAGING (PROJECT 1)

Howzit

Description

The Howzit project aims to provide a secure peer-to-peer messaging app that does not require the disclosure of any personally identifiable information. Howzit does not rely on a centralized authority to administer users, which otherwise could be used for surveillance. The app also utilizes established encryption methods and security protocols to protect communication between peers.

Features

  • We have implemented an authentication process (sign up, sign in, sign out) where the users create an account on the local device with a username and password.

  • The user can establish new contacts by scanning their QR code. We decided to use QR codes for this activity since it is difficult to intercept by third parties.

  • The user can rename or remove their contacts.

  • The user can communicate with contacts using encrypted peer-to-peer messages. 

  • The application storage is encrypted to prevent disclosure of the user’s contact list and message history. 

Screenshots

Communication tools

  • Slack for formal text communication

  • WhatsApp for informal text communication

  • Zoom for larger meetings and pair programming

  • Email for contacting the supervisors and customer

Collaboration tools

  • GitLab to manage distribute coding

  • Jira to manage the product and sprint backlog 

  • Google Drive to manage the documentation

  • Android Studio to manage code implementation

Links

Demo

 

CONTACT

If you want to contact us, please send a message to: isakforsman@hotmail.com

 


PROJECT TEAM MEMBERS

Erblin Isaku

Project role(s): Developer

Personal info: 22 y/o from Albania, studying Software Engineering at MDH.

Skills and interests: Front-End Web Developer / SEO Specialist

Hobbies: Photography, Movies, Travel, Gaming

E-mail: eiu20001@student.mdh.se

Other contacts:

  • WhatsApp: +355 696721747

Iacopo Marri

Project role(s): Developer

Personal info: I'm 24 y/o, from Florence, italy, where i studied for my bachelor's degree in computer science.  Now i'm studing for master degree in Computer Science and Engineering at Politecnico di Milano, and at the moment i live in Milan. 

Skills and interests: I have some experience with various programming languages such as Java, C, C++, Python, SQL, Javascript, but always in the scope of small academic or personal projects. With this i'm searching for some experience in developing bigger team projects.

Hobbies: I like playing music, driving bykes, playing videogames, cooking stuff. 

E-mail: iacopomarri@gmail.com

Other contacts: 

  • Telegram: @IacopoMarri

 

Isak Viking Forsman

Project role(s): Developer

Personal info: I'm am a second-year student at the master's program in software engineering at MDH in Sweden, and I also took my bachelor's degree in computer science there. I currently live in Västerås and plan to do so until my studies are complete.

Skills and interests: I have used a bunch of different programming languages in my previous courses, but I am most familiar with C, C++, and C#. I have also used the Scrum framework before, but never in a distributed setting, so that will be a new experience.

Hobbies:  My big hobbies are history, videogames, and programming. I also try to learn blender 2.8 and how to play guitar in my free time, but I'm not very good at it :)

E-mail: img13001@student.mdh.se

Other contacts:

  • E-mail: isakforsman@hotmail.com
  • Phone: +46 768382816
  • Discord: Viking#9296

Borko Smolovic

Project role(s): Developer

Personal info: I am an exchange student from Montenegro enrolled in MDH's one year Master's degree programme currently located in Vasteras (Sweden), i completed my Bachelor’s degree program at Mediterranean University Podgorica (Montenegro).

Skills and interests: So far i have one year of experience as junior software developer in web applications using JavaScript with Vue framework and PHP with Laravel framework, i also know Java, C#, MySQL, MsSQL and some additional languages/technologies.

Hobbies: I really like trying out new things, traveling and exploring, meeting new people, working out, cars, videogames and programming.

E-mail: bsc20001@student.mdh.se

Other contacts: 

  • borko.smolovic@gmail.com
  • Viber: +382 67 277 333
  • Whatsapp: +382 67 277 333

Matteo Cecini

Project role(s): SCRUM Master

Personal info: I am 25 years old and I am from Livigno, a small town in the north of Italy, in the middle of the Alps. I currently live in Milan where I am enrolled in the master's degree in Computer Science and Engineering at POLIMI where I have already obtained a batchelor's degree in Computer Science

Skills and interests: 

As far as programming languages I know well mainly Java and C,  but I am ready to learn any new programming language. I also have some backroung about cybersecurity and network security.

Hobbies: I like sport such as skiing/snowboarding, soccer and rugby. I really like go trekking on mountain and I love to travel all over the world and see new cities and cultures different from my

 

Alessandro Bertulli

Project role(s): Developer

Personal info: I'm a 23 years old MS student in Computer Science Engineering at Polimi, where I also got my BoS in the same area. I live near Milan, and I enjoy being a bit detached from the big city

Skills and interests: I started my computer carrer learning C and Java. Recently I learned functional programming with Haskell, and I enjoyed having different philophies to programming. I'm trying to teach myself C++ in the spare time. I also like the LaTeX community. Total nerd, I like algorithms and almost everything STEM

Hobbies: playing guitar, travelling and consuming highly selected fantasy and science fiction (I have difficult tastes)

E-mail: alessandro.bertulli@mail.polimi.it

berbu96@gmail.com (personal)

Other contacts: 

Nickolas Naydenov

Project role(s): Product Owner

Personal info: I study Computer Science at the Sofia University and I'm an exchange student at MDH, Sweden. I live in Västerås.

Skills and interests: I have experience in system administration (mainly Linux), networking, application support, security; I have an idea of several programming languages, I have an understanding of socket programming. Currently I'm interested in cloud computing, virtualization, container orchestration, DevOps, automation and distributed systems.

Hobbies: reading, listening to music (Rock esp.). I'm interested in history, song lyrics. I like cycling, swimming (although I'm hardly a swimmer), traveling around Europe, meeting people, making friends and learning languages. Drawing sometimes.

E-mail: nnv20001@student.mdh.se

Other contacts:  +359 884 792574


PROJECT SUPERVISORS

Abu Naser Masud (MDH)

E-mail: masud.abunaser@mdh.se

Samuele Giussani (POLIMI)

E-mail: samuele.giussani@mail.polimi.it

 


PROJECT CUSTOMERS