Home Search AAA
Number of visits:

Exchange students are students participating in a formal exchange programme between their home university and the University of Zagreb (i.e. Erasmus, Bilateral agreements, CEEPUS, Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window, etc.). Exchange students temporarily live in Zagreb and attend courses or are involved in other academic activities at the University of Zagreb.

The exchange period lasts usually 1 semester (normally 30 ECTS) and maximum 1 academic year (normally 60 ECTS). The exchange student does NOT get a diploma from the host university (i.e. the University of Zagreb). However, all academic results will be sent to his/her home university. Moreover, the student pays tuition fee at his/her home university, not at the host university.

Exchange students need the approval of their home and host university – at the time of the mobility they need to present a learning agreement signed by both universities, which is a guarantee for academic recognition of those courses afterwards. ECTS Coordinators establish agreements with foreign universities and provide detailed information on partner universities (which they generally know personally). ECTS Coordinators also help students to draw up and edit learning agreements they will follow during their period at the host university. When students return to the home university, they can contact their ECTS Coordinator for help with acquiring recognition for the exams they took at the partner university.