Home Search AAA
Number of visits:

FER offers three second cycle study programs:

Structure of study programs

Duration of each Master program at FER is 2 years. All study programs at FER are taught according to the prerequisite system. For every profile, the following sets of courses are defined:

  • Theoretical courses – the courses which comprise theory specific to one or more profiles (e.g. courses which could have the word theory in the title).
  • Specialization courses – the courses which further specialize a student within a profile.
  • Elective courses – all other courses in the fields of Electrical engineering, Information technology or Computing, or other fields within student's interest.
  • Mathematics and science courses – courses offered at FER or other faculties within University of Zagreb, with mathematical and science content.
  • Humanistic or social courses – courses offered at FER or other faculties within University of Zagreb, with humanistic or social content.
  • Laboratory of profile - subject witch concentrate laboratories, held periodically and refers to skills of using equipment and software.
  • Seminar - students individually prepare and held presentation of actual problem from their field.
  • Project - groups of 6 to 8 students enforce their team work and project management skills through solving actual problems, software development, etc.

Student is obligated to enroll:

  • Theoretical courses – 25 ECTS points
  • Specialization courses – 20 ECTS points
  • Elective courses – 12 ECTS points
  • Mathematics and science courses – 8 ECTS points 
  • Humanistic or social courses – 6 ECTS points
  • Laboratories of profile - 8 ECTS points
  • Seminar - 3 ECTS points 
  • Project - 8 ECTS points

Student is also obligated to complete and defend a Master Thesis, which contributes with 30 ECTS points.

In each semester student can enroll 25 to 35 ECTS points.


The students are obliged to be present at all forms of teaching. The groups will not exceed the number of 75 students, and the teaching will encompass both the theory and application. All courses will be graded through continuous assessment, consisting of homework, periodical tests, two mid-term exams and the final exam. Some of the students who gain number of points insufficient for a passing grade, according to the Faculty statute, will be allowed to take another exam, within 2 weeks. Those who fail, together with the students who gain extremely small number of points through the semester, will enrol the complete course again.

All courses mandatory for a study program are elective for another study program at the same level. Only courses similar to the courses of FER can be transferred from another school with recognition of ECTS points.
The second cycle study ends when all mandatory courses are completed and 120 ECTS points are collected. Completing and public defending of Master thesis contributes with 30 ECTS points. 
One of the main goals of this study-program reform is the switch from teaching to learning, so the students will have around 16 lecture hours per week.
Study programs are prepared according to the prerequisite system so students can choose other paths through the study.

Admission requirements

Each academic year up to 550 applicants will be admitted to the Master of Science programs at FER.

Enrollment is possible at the beginning of each semester.

Students who have obtained bachelor degree at FER, at other internationally accredited university or at partner-university, and finished the studies in a maximum of 4 years (8 semesters) are exempt from the entrance exam. Other students are obligated to take the exam.

  • Applicant can earn maximum of 1000 points in admission procedure
  • up to 600 points refers to success at entrance exam
  • up to 400 points can be assigned to each applicant according to duration and grade at previously finished bachelor program
  • Points based on success at bachelor level are calculated in following way:
    Points = (weight average grade/ 5) * 400

Participation/student fees

Fee for each semester is set to 1.500 Croatian kunas.
For second enrolment of each course fee is set to 250 Croatian kunas per ECTS point.


Recommended study scheme


      ECTS %
  Theoretical courses T 25 21%
  Specialization courses S 20 17%
  Elective courses, Seminar and Project I 23 19%
  Mathematics and science courses M 8 7%
  Humanistic or social courses D 6 5%
  Laboratories profile L 8 7%
  Master Thesis Z 30 25%
Semester Course   ECTS Lec
  Theoretical course T 5 3
  Theoretical course T 5 3
  Theoretical course T 5 3
I Mathematics and science course M 4 3
  Specialization course S 4 2
  Humanistic or social course D 2 2
  Laboratory profile 1 L 5 2
      30 18
  Theoretical course T 5 3
  Theoretical course T 5 3
  Mathematics and science course M 4 3
II Specialization course S 4 2
  Specialization course S 4 2
  Humanistic or social course D 2 2
  Seminar I 3 2
  Laboratory profile 2 L 3 1
      30 18
  Specialization course S 4 2
  Specialization course S 4 2
  Elective course I 4 2
III Elective course I 4 2
  Elective course I 4 2
  Project I 8 1
  Humanistic or social course D 2 2
      30 13
IV Master Thesis Z 30  
      30 0